Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Read in School That Became Favourites

Hello everyone!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is “Back to School Freebie”. Top Ten Tuesday is a blogging meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Technically school started last week for me, but it’s not like anyone does anything truly productive on their first day, right? I’ve decided to write this post about ten books that I read for school or uni that have become favourites of mine. Because while there are some that I haven’t finished to this day (looking at you, Frankenstein) there are a lot that I ended up liking a lot. Some of these are taken from my German classes, but most of them are in English.

TTT-22.08-a

As usual they are in no particular order and links to the Goodreads pages are below the title!

TTT-22.08-b

Andrew Bennett & Nicholas Royle, An Introduction to Literature, Criticism and Theory

Goodreads

This was a set text in my second semester at uni in Luxembourg. It’s a great introduction if you have no idea what literary theory and criticism are all about. The tone is fairly informal, and it makes for a great read, even if you just want to read it for fun.

Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

Goodreads

At the point at which I read this (first year of uni in Wales, if I’m not mistaken), I had already decided that 19th century literature was not for me for the most part, especially the great women’s writers. But Jane Eyre pulled me in and before I realised I had read all of it. I don’t like the male characters, and I will never get why she gets together with Rochester, but it’s a great book!

Sinéad Morrissey, Parallax

Goodreads

I’m fairly sure I’ve talked about this book before on here. It’s modern poetry, and I had to read it for a course on modern British poetry in my third year in Wales. It’s one of my favourite from the course, and I still like to come back to it every once in a while to reread my favourite poems.

TTT-22.08-c

William Shakespeare

I’ve read a lot of Shakespeare throughout my school and university years, and he remains my favourite playwright ever. My Shakespeare collection is ever growing, and I’m really glad I got to read so many of his works with guidance, because it really helps with understanding. Though nothing can beat seeing any of the plays performed.

Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale

Goodreads

This is such an amazing work, and it was so interesting to learn about it in school. I remember sitting in class thinking that I want to read more of Atwood’s books, and I was really excited when I got to read Surfacing in uni, but I’m still woefully terrible at reading more, even though I really enjoy Atwood’s storytelling.

T.S. Eliot, Selected Poems

Goodreads

I didn’t read Eliot until university, and I’m not entirely sure I could have appreciated him as much as he deserves before that. The Waste Land is one of my favourite poems.

TTT-22.08 d

Mohsin Hamid, The Reluctant Fundamentalist

Goodreads

Another book from my first year in Wales. I was so impressed with this one that Hamid became one of my favourite authors. His writing is just amazing, and I love the way he tells stories. Plus The Reluctant Fundamentalist told a story I had been missing in the overall narrative of world history, which I was really glad about.

Jeanette Winterson, The Stone Gods

Goodreads

For some reason whenever someone asks me about the first book with LGBTAIQ* rep I read I always forget about The Stone Gods, even though it definitely was one of the first (though I admittedly might have read The Song of Achilles before that…). It’s another of these books that made me find a new favourite author. Though like Atwood, I am woefully far away from having read at least most of Winterson’s books.

Patrick Süskind, Perfume

Goodreads

I cheated a little on this one. Technically I read it on my own before I read it for school. To this day it’s one of my favourite books, and I like to reread it every once in a while, even though I know most of the story by heart at this point. It’s just so good.

Harper Lee, To Kill A Mockingbird

Goodreads

This was the very last book I read for school, and it’s still a personal favourite. There’s so much i love about it. Still, I haven’t touched it since school, so it might be time for a reread.

Did you find any favourites on this list? Have you found favourite books because you had to read them for school? Or favourite authors?

Leave a Reply

