Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Recommendations for People Looking to Read More Books With LGBTAIQ* Protagonists

Hey everyone!

Top Ten Tuesdays are finally back, and I’m already starting with the long titles again! Maybe that will help me to get back to posting more consistently…

This week’s theme is “Ten Recommendations for [Blank]”. Top Ten Tuesday is a blogging meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Anyways, when I tried to come up with a group of people to fill the blank, I fully admit that I came up short for a bit until this one hit me in the face. What better chance to rave about my favourite LGBTAIQ* books again? I hope you’re not tired yet! I know I keep mentioning the same books a lot… I just really love them!

As usual the following are in no particular order and I will ink reviews (if published) and Goodreads pages for all of them!

TTT-August-15-a

Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Review | Goodreads

Are you looking for a love story with beautiful writing and great characters? Then this is definitely a book for you! There’s a lot of hype around it, and it’s all justified.

Nina LaCour, We Are Okay

MW-June-12

Review | Goodreads

Do you want something that focusses more on family than romance? This book is sad, but the writing is great and even with the sadness and grief, there is a lot of hope as well.

Nina LaCour & David Levithan, You Know Me Well

Review | Goodreads

Are you looking for something that has friendship, a cute romance, a tragic romance and just tons of love and happiness? Because all of that is in this book. I hope you’re not a happy crier (I am), because you should probably have tissues ready for this (I didn’t).

Austin Chant, Peter Darling

Peter-Darling

Review | Goodreads

Are retellings your thing? Then look no further, because Peter Darling is a wonderful retelling of Peter Pan. It doesn’t matter if you actually like Peter Pan (I definitely don’t), chances are you’ll still like this book (I absolutely do). It’s such an amazing take at Peter Pan, and even without that just such a great story about how our perception of people is not always right and also about love. Please read this book.

Meredith Russo, If I Was Your Girl

Goodreads

Do you want to read about trans characters? This book is a really good place to start. The writing is really great, and it’s written by a trans woman.

Jen Wilde, Queens of Geek

Review | Goodreads

You like stories about fandom? This book has two great romances set against the backdrop of a huge fandom convention (think San Diego Comic Con but more fictional). It’s fun and really shows the best things about fan culture.

Julia Ember, The Seafarer’s Kiss

Seafarer's-Kiss

Review | Goodreads

Do you like mermaids and vikings? Because this book has both. It’s also a retelling, telling the story of Ursula from The Little Mermaid. Plus it has everyone’s favourite trickster god, Loki, and they’re awesome! (Please note that there have been criticisms by genderfluid readers about the portrayal of genderfluid people in this book though.)

Johanna Parkhurst, Thanks a Lot, John LeClair

Review | Goodreads

You like reading about sports? This book is about a gay high school hockey player, and it’s not only sweet, but it tackles the very real topic of homophobia in sports and what it can mean for athletes to come out as LGBTAIQ*.

Adam Silvera, History Is All You Left Me

May-7-GD

Review | Goodreads

Do you like tragic stories? Try this one! Griff has lost the love of his life, and as he starts working through his grief, he realises some rather important things.

Mackenzi Lee, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

Goodreads

Is historical fiction your thing? This fun story follows Monty and his best friend Percy, as well as Monty’s sister Felicity on their journey across Europe for their Grand Tour. It’s amazing to see Monty grow and for him and Percy to figure out their relationship.

Have you read any of these? Do you want to read any of them? Did you maybe know all of them already and think this list is kinda pointless? Do you have any recommendations that I missed?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Recommendations for People Looking to Read More Books With LGBTAIQ* Protagonists

  1. I just got a copy of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue; it sounds like so much fun! I cannot wait to read that one. Adam Silvera writes incredibly well and I still have to read More Happy Than Not but I know it will probably break my heart- I have to prepare. I definitely want to read We Are Okay. Thanks for sharing! Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

