Wrap-ups and TBRs

July Wrap-up and August TBR

Hello everyone!

I hope everyone had a great July? Mine had its ups and downs, but overall it treated me well, which was great.

Anyways, let’s see what I read last month.

July Wrap-up

July-Wrap-up

Technically that picture is incomplete, but I didn’t expect to read an entire book on the 31st when the month was practically over… Still, here’s the round up, featuring links and ratings and all that jazz:

Hanya Yanagihara, A Little Life >>> Review to come | Goodreads

Robin Talley, Our Own Private Universe >>> Review (DNF) | Goodreads

Evi Simeoni, Schlagmann >>> Goodreads | The story of a German top rower, who wins the Olympics as stroke on the men’s eight. He’s anorexic and depressed and in the book former friends talk about his life and death, years later. It’s based on a true story, and it’s good, but I read it too soon after A Little Life and it didn’t pack the punch it could have. ★★★★☆ (4 Stars)

Kiersten White, Now I Rise (The Conqueror’s Saga, #2) >>> Review to come | Goodreads

V.E. Schwab, Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity, #2) >>> Review to come | Goodreads

Mackenzi Lee, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue >>> Review to come | Goodreads

Michael Buchinger, Der Letzte macht den Mund zu: Selbstgemachte Gemeinheiten und extrafrische Bösartigkeiten >>> Goodreads | He’s one of my absolute favourite youtubers, so I obviously had to get his book. It’s amazing, and I pretty much read it in his voice, which got a little confusing at times, because I’m not used to think with an Austrian accent. A quick and fun read. ★★★★☆ (4 Stars)

Melissa Grey, The Savage Dawn (The Girl at Midnight, #3) >>>Review to come | Goodreads

Nnedi Okorafor, Akata Witch (Akata Witch, #1) >>> Review to come | Goodreads

August TBR

August-TBR

So obviously I’ve read Akata Witch already, but I’ve barely started with Strange the Dreamer and it’s really beautiful already!

I’ve decided not to set myself a TBR for August apart from those two, because I’m not entirely sure about how much I’ll manage to read, and because I feel like I need a bit of a break from set TBRs. I think a month of just randomly choosing a book from my shelf feels good every once in a while and will help me keep my reading mix interesting.

General Life Updates

It’s the first of August so I’ve officially started working! I work full-time now in an apprenticeship kind of situation (the German education system means three years of apprenticeship to qualify for your job title, including going to school once or twice a week).  Anyways, I’m not sure yet how well I’ll be able to balance work and reading, but I’ll try my best! And I still have like three months worth of reviews in my drafts so I’ve got some time to figure it out before I run out 😉

It was also my birthday in July, which means I feel older than I have any right to (on the other hand I’m 25 now, which is a quarter century, which is like… a lot more than it feels like??). I somehow managed not to blow all of my birthday money on books, and spent most of it on DVDs instead, which is still a bit of a shock (but at least I can marathon the entirety of the MCU now so there’s that).

What did you read last month? What are you reading this month? Anything else you want to talk about?

Leave a Reply

