Reviews

Review: A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3) by V.E. Schwab

Review for A Darker Shade of Magic | Review for A Gathering of Shadows

A Conjuring of Light is the amazing last book in V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic Trilogy. Darkness is spreading over Red London as Lila Bard and Kell Maresh race to save it. And while Rhy and the others who are safely inside the Maresh palace in London fight for the survival of the city, Lila and Kell have no choice but to go on a quest with Alucard Emery to find something that shouldn’t even exist.

ACOL

Personally I thought this was the best part of the entire trilogy. I have to admit that I was a little cautious when I saw the page count, because the first two books started so slow and took ages to get to the actual action, but as soon as I started reading any fears were dispersed. A Conjuring of Light is fast paced and action-filled. A lot happens in this book, but it never feels overwhelming or drawn out.

On top of that the characters are still amazing. I basically fell in love with the relationship between Rhy and Kell in the first book, and it was just great to see it as the story progressed. I already loved Alucard in A Gathering of Shadows, and didn’t think there was a chance to love him even more, but Schwab went ahead and did it.

I’m afraid I don’t have a lot to say about Lila? I like her and she’s a great character, and she remains her stabby, thieving self, but I never managed to be fully into her as a character. It doesn’t take anything away from the book for me, since I got more than enough of my favourites, but this may be the only thing I can criticise A Conjuring of Light for. I just still don’t really care about Lila to the extend that I care about other characters.

I also adored the family relationship between all of the Mareshs, and I feel like there was so much progress in that, it was beautiful to watch. The way they ultimately love each other and how Kell is after all part of the family made me really happy.

I think A Conjuring of Light is one of the most satisfying ends to a series that I’ve ever read. I mean, yes I’d love to read more about how everyone is faring after the end of the book,  because I’m greedy like that, but I also felt absolutely satisfied with it as the end to this particular story. There’s no “But what happened with?” going on here, just full on satisfaction.

Rating: ★★★★1/2☆ (4 1/2 Stars)

Additional Information

Shades-of-Magic

Goodreads

Publication Date: 21 February 2017
Publisher: Titan Books
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 666
Genre: Fantasy
ISBN: 9781785652448

 

Summary:

Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

(Source: Goodreads.com)

Leave a Reply

