Reviews

Review: Peter Darling by Austin Chant

In Peter Darling, Peter Pan returns to Neverland after being absent for ten years. When he left, he had resigned himself to living the rest of his life as Wendy Darling, but time has only made it clear that he can’t escape his identity as a man.

But things in Neverland have changed too, and between realising that the games he used to play with the Lost Boys are a lot more serious now than they used to be. And on top of all that he starts to discover his attraction to his old enemy Captain Hook, who challenges his view of himself and who the villain in their story is.

Peter-Darling

First of all I have to say that I don’t like Peter Pan. I was supposed to read the book for uni a few years ago, but I never made it through, and the first pages of this book reminded me vivdly why. I just can’t stand Peter. I think he’s a horrible person.

But that’s original Peter, and while he’s still Peter Pan in this book, Chant made him a lot more sympathetic in my eyes.

I originally picked Peter Darling up because my friend Ava (@gowritealready on twitter) highly recommended it and basically told me it’s a must-read.  So I decided to order it as one of my Pride Month reads, and Lord, was she right.

I read this in one sitting because it was so good and I literally couldn’t put it down. The story drew me in from the very first page, and while I had to push a little through the first bits that reminded me why I can’t stand Peter Pan, it ultimately wasn’t much of the novel, and everything else made it so worth it.

Chant gives Neverland a whole new dimension without letting it lose its magic, and he gives Peter and Hook so much more depth. It’s amazing, really.

Then there was the romance between Peter and Hook. It was the most beautiful and sweetest thing ever and I absolutely adore them. They were so great for each other and just… I could keep gush about them but we’d have to go into spoiler territory for that so I’ll leave it at that.

I can only urge you to pick this novel up, even if it’s adult Romance. The book is written by a queer, trans man. Also please be warned that there is sex and discussion of transphobia in regard to Peter’s past and his family.

Rating: ★★★★★ (5 Stars)

Additional Information

Goodreads

Publication Date: 9 February 2017
Publisher: Less Than Three Press
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 204
Genre: Romance, LGBTAIQ*
ISBN: 9781620049808

Summary:

Ten years ago, Peter Pan left Neverland to grow up, leaving behind his adolescent dreams of boyhood and resigning himself to life as Wendy Darling. Growing up, however, has only made him realize how inescapable his identity as a man is. But when he returns to Neverland, everything has changed: the Lost Boys have become men, and the war games they once played are now real and deadly. Even more shocking is the attraction Peter never knew he could feel for his old rival, Captain Hook-and the realization that he no longer knows which of them is the real villain.

(source: Goodreads.com)

2 thoughts on “Review: Peter Darling by Austin Chant

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Recommendations for People Looking to Read More Books With LGBTAIQ* Protagonists | Alex Reads Books

  2. Pingback: June Wrap-up and July TBR | Alex Reads Books

Leave a Reply

