top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Best LGBTAIQ* Books That I’ve Read This Year (So Far)

Hey everyone!

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s theme is “Best Books You’ve Read in 2017 So Far”. Top Ten Tuesday is a blogging meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I started out planning to just pick all of my favourite books regardless of diversity, but there are only three on the list that aren’t LGBTAIQ* in some way and so I decided to just give them honourable mentions at the very end of my post, because it’s three books that I just loved so much I don’t want to leave them out of this post. This brings the list to 10 (+3) (so thirteen technically). All of them have a five star rating.

Without further ado, here come my favourites:

Kiersten White, And I Darken

And-I-Darken

Review | Goodreads

Rep: Gay MC, Muslim MC

I love this genderbent retelling of the story of Vlad Dracul so much. Lada is such a badass main character, and her brother Radu is so sweet and badass in his own, unassuming, way. I have the sequel lying on my bedside table to pick up as soon as I can, and I can’t wait to see what comes next for the siblings.

Johanna Parkhurst, Thanks a lot, John LeClair

March-09-a

Review | Goodreads

Rep: Gay MC

I’ve mentioned it before, but I like sports, especially hockey (and, as a stereotypical German, football) and I think organisations like the You Can Play Project and Pride Tape do really important work, even if to some people a bit of rainbow tape on a hockey stick might seem irrelevant. That just as a opener. Thanks a lot, John LeClair is about a talented hockey player at high school level who has to navigate his relationship with a guy and has to decide whether he’s willing to live his life in the closet or not. Emmitt and Dusty are such a cute couple and this story is so well done, plus it discusses coming out as a hockey player and the conclusion was really great.

Adam Silvera, History Is All You Left Me

May-7-GD

Review | Goodreads

Rep: Gay, mental illness

This was such a sad read but I loved it, and even though I didn’t like all of Griffin’s choices, I was hoping for his happiness the whole time. History Is All You Left Me is beautiful and really really worth a read.

V.E. Schwab, Shades of Magic Series

Shades-of-Magic

Review A Darker Shade of Magic | Review A Gathering of Shadows | Goodreads

Rep: Gay, Bisexual

While it starts out a bit slow, and the first and second book couldn’t get past a four star rating for me, I love this series to pieces, and the third book, A Conjuring of Light was amazing, and probably had one of the best ends I ever read. Also Alucard and Rhy deserve the world, I love them so much.

Jen Wilde, Queens of Geek

April-11

Review | Goodreads

Rep: Bisexual MC, Aspergers MC

The book about fandom culture I have been looking for all of my life. Plus it has two super cute romances that I adore with all my heart.

Julia Ember, The Seafarer’s Kiss

Seafarer's-Kiss

Review | Goodreads

Rep: Bisexual MC, Genderfluid character

Retellings are great, and this is a f/f retelling on top of it. And it has Loki, who is my Norse fave. And also a shieldmaiden (and Vikings in general). I was so excited for this before it even released and I was not disappointed.
Note: There has been some criticism regarding the genderfluid character in this book

Ian McDonald, Luna Duology

MW-June-3

Review Luna: New Moon | Goodreads

Rep: Queer, Genderqueer, various others

I keep talking about this, and I’m sure some of you are a little done with it. BUT it is so good, and I just really love it. And the diversity is amazing. Read it!

Nina LaCour, We Are Okay

MW-June-12

Review | Goodreads

Rep: Queer

I adore this book and it was such a beautiful read about family and friendship.

Nina LaCour & David Levithan, You Know Me Well

GD-June-15

Review | Goodreads

Rep: Gay, Lesbian, Trans

I’m here for queer friendships, and this book is such a great story about queer friendships, as well as about trying to figure out your life after school.

Austin Chant, Peter Darling

Peter-Darling

Review (Coming Soon) | Goodreads

Rep: Trans MC, Gay

I’m not a huge fan of Peter Pan, but this retelling in which Peter is a trans man who returns to Neverland ten years after he left, and starts to realise that his feelings for Captain Hook are a little more complicated than thought, is so amazing. I couldn’t put it down and read it in one night.

Meredith Russo, If I Was Your Girl

Review Coming Soon | Goodreads

Rep: Trans MC, Lesbian, Bi

I read this last weekend when I was supposed to sleep because I had to get up early, but I couldn’t put it down. It’s a great book about friendship and family and the secrets people keep.

Honourable Mentions

Nnedi Okorafor, Binti (Binti, #1)

binti

Review | Goodreads

Rep: Himba

I’m here for diverse SciFi and this novella was a great read.

Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give

Goodreads

Rep: Black

I don’t think any favourites list is truly complete without THUG this year, because it’s not only that important, but also that good. A must-read if I’ve ever seen one.

Meagan Spooner, Hunted

 

Review Coming Soon | Goodreads

This book was just so beautifully written I couldn’t leave it out. It’s yet another Beauty and the Beast retelling, but it combines the Western European fairy tale with Russian tales and weaves a beautiful and magical world. Plus it has Beauty intent on killing the Beast, which in my opinion makes for a much more interesting tale than the original.

Talk to me: See anything you like? Or anything you still want to read?

Leave a Reply

