top 5 / Wrap-ups and TBRs

Top 5 Spring Reads 2017

Hey everyone,

I’m sorry about not posting last weekend but I kinda chickened out of the post I was going to do. But this week it’s time for my Top 5 Spring reads of 2017, and I can’t chicken out of that one.

Spring-Favourites-1
This list was a hard one, because I’ve just read so many really good books this spring, and in fact, I ended up deciding to leave it at a Top 7 instead, because I couldn’t bring myself to cut any more books from the list than I already had. I’m weak. Also they were just really really good.

Also in an unsurprising turn of events all of my favourites this season are queer, so there’s that.

V.E. Schwab, Shades of Magic

Shades-of-Magic

Goodreads

This series almost made the cut for my winter Top 5, but thanks to A Conjuring of Light it got another shot now and i just can’t kick it off again. It’s so good and I loved the ending so much! I still have to publish my review for A Conjuring of Light, but the ones for A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows are already up!

 

Jen Wilde, Queens of Geek

April-11

Review | Goodreads

There was so much to love about this book! The romances, the friendship, the geekiness! It was everything I want from a book about characters who are involved in fandom culture and more.

 

Julia Ember, The Seafarer’s Kiss

Seafarer's-Kiss

Review | Goodreads

This was such a wonderful and well written retelling, and I loved the focus on the villain. Also Ersel and Ragna are great together. Not to mention that it features Loki, as ambiguous as ever, and just the way I know and love them from the myths.

Ian McDonald, Luna

MW-June-3

Goodreads

I read the first book in this duology in late May and started June by reading the second book, and I am absolutely in love with it. McDonald created an amazing vision of life on the moon, with tons of diverse characters. I already posted my review of Luna: New Moon, but I still have to publish the one for Luna: Wolf Moon.

Nina LaCour, We Are Okay

MW-June-12

Review | Goodreads

A fairly recent read, but it’s so incredibly beautiful and sad, but also mainly focusses on friendship and family. I admit that I happened to read this when I was in an emotional mood, and that that probably affected my rating a little bit, but I also think that I would have loved this either way.

Nina LaCour and David Levithan, You Know Me Well

GD-June-15

Review | Goodreads

This is such a beautiful story about queer friendships and figuring out who you are and what you want. A really happy summery read that I highly recommend.

Austin Chant, Peter Darling

Goodreads

My review isn’t going up until next week, but I love, love, love this. It’s a M M Romance retelling of Peter Pan where Peter is a trans man and returns to Neverland ten years after he left, just to realise that things aren’t as clear cut as he thought, and it is so well written! I adore the romance plot and I’m so happy my friend Ava told me to read it.

Peter-Darling

Chat with me: What did you read this spring? See anything you liked, too? Have any recs for books you think I would like?

Leave a Reply

