Reviews

Review: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

We Are Okay is the story of Marin, who hasn’t talked to her best friend Mabel ever since she left California behind to go to college in New York. But now Mabel is visiting for winter break and Marin has to confront all of her hurt and loneliness.

MW-June-12

This book is so much. In a good way. I read this on a day when I felt down and it turned out to be the exact book I needed at that moment, and I finished it in one sitting.

We Are Okay is beautiful and touching, and written in such a absolutely stunning way. I love it. The style is beautiful (I’m repeating myself, I know) and simple, and it works so well with the story LaCour is telling. In fact the style drew me in right from the start and it wouldn’t let me go until the very end. It makes the story feel so alive and realistic.

Marin is a great narrator and character. She feels complex and three-dimensional even though she doesn’t necessarily see herself like that anymore. And there’s a lot of questioning and learning going on, which I personally really liked. I felt almost like her grief was my own, and I felt so much for her.

I cry easily, and considering I was already feeling not super happy, I cried a few times, but the end had tears running down my face. It was a happy cry.

I also absolutely loved how casual the diversity in this was. Queerness is addressed without a fuzz, and Mabel just happens to be Mexican American. It’s all there in the text, but it has literally nothing to do with the main plot, it’s just there, and I so love books that manage to do that. There isn’t romance either. There’s love at the heart of the story, but it’s the love between best friends and family, and it’s so beautiful to read books about that kind of love.

I can only urge you to read We Are Okay. I realise my reaction may be a bit tied up in emotion, but I wholeheartedly believe that I would tell you the exact same thing if I had read this book at another time in my life. It is absolutely beautiful and amazing.

Rating: ★★★★★ (5 Stars)

Additional Information

Goodreads

Publication Date: 14 February 2017
Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 234
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, LGBTAIQ*
ISBN: 9780735232013

Summary:

“You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . . . Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.”

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

(source: Goodreads.com)

7 thoughts on “Review: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

  1. Oh my god! I am into crying lately… I don’t know why… I watched “The Young Queen” and I cried so bad…

    You got me with that part, it seems to be a beautiful book! and I definitely will added to my list! Thank you!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Recommendations for People Looking to Read More Books With LGBTAIQ* Protagonists | Alex Reads Books

  3. Pingback: June Wrap-up and July TBR | Alex Reads Books

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best LGBTAIQ* Books That I’ve Read This Year (So Far) | Alex Reads Books

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Spring Reads 2017 | Alex Reads Books

  6. Excellent review! Thank you for sharing! I recently added We Are Okay to my TBR pile and your review just makes me want to drop everything and start it now!
    I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump these past few weeks and have been desperately searching for something compelling to stir my emotions and bookish feelings.
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

