Wrap-ups and TBRs

May Wrap-up and June TBR

Hey everyone!

It is really the beginning of June already? Because wow where did the time go? Still another month over means another wrap-up and a new TBR. Plus, I’ve got some news about blog scheduling and what’s coming up this month.

Let’s dig into this then, right?

May Wrap-up

May-31

May has been a semi-good month for reading I guess? I kind of ended up not reading all that much towards the end of it, because I got massive book hangover from Luna: New Moon by Ian McDonald and Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn, and I couldn’t get the sequels yet. Rereading a book I haven’t read in about 10 years hasn’t worked all that well either.

Anyways, as usual the following list is chronological and I’m linking any reviews that are already posted and comment on anything that won’t get a review.

Dave Eggers, The Circle >>> Review coming soon

Meagan Spooner, Hunted >>> Review Coming Soon

Rick Riordan, The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo, #2) >>> Review coming soon

Uwe Klausner, Die Stunde der Gladiatoren >>> ★★★★☆ (4 Stars) This is a German book set in my home town. a gladiator gets killed the night after an important fight and a Roman lawyer tries to solve the murder case. There’s a lot of Ancient Roman palace intrigue and I really loved it.

Ian McDonald, Luna: New Moon (Luna, #1) >>> ★★★★★ (5 Stars) Review

Lian Hearn, Emperor of the Eight Islands (The Tale of Shikanoko, #1+2) >>> Review Coming Soon

Ian McDonald, Brasyl >>> I DNF’ed this after about 150 pages because while there were some intriguing elements, the story wasn’t really going anywhere and one of the POV characters really got on my nerves. It was a bit sad, because it sounded really interesting when I found it at the used book shop two years ago.

June TBR

June-1

Most of these are fairly recent acquisitions, and i don’t think any of these were bought earlier than the beginning of the year. Also I’m planning to add a few more books to my TBR in the course of the month, but I have to see what I’m going to order first.

Organisational Stuff

Which brings us to the organisational stuff I mentioned earlier. You might have noticed that I started posting for Top Ten Tuesday. That lead to me thinking over my blogging schedule to kind of spread it out a bit more. With the old schedule, I’d have the Top Ten Tuesday post and then right the day after a review, so I’ve decided to change it up.

I’ve actually already started with the new schedule, but to put it into words: There’s going to be up to three posts a week from now on. I deliberately say up to three posts, because while I will always try to find something for the third day, I can’t guarantee it. So…

Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday (This should be fairly self explanatory)

Thursday: Review (This is a bit tentative for now, because Thursday is kind of my busiest day of the week right now but I should be able to squeeze in the post either in the morning or in the evening.)

Saturday: Other (As you can see today, I’m using this day for stuff like my Wrap-up/TBR posts and my seasonal Top 5 features, and just generally anything else I can come up with. Some months there will be more of these, some there will be just the one at the beginning of the month, but I’ll try to do as much with this as I can)

So that’s it for the general scheduling update. But that’s not all. Since June is Pride month, I’m planning to put a focus on books with LGBTAIQ* rep. Of course this is something we shouldn’t just do for this month, and my goal for every month is to focus as much on LGBTAIQ* rep as I can, but I’ve decided that this will be my sole focus for this month. The books on my TBR are all (to my knowledge) books with LGBTAIQ* representation and any books I’m going to buy this month will fit into that as well. All of my reviews this month will be for books with LGBTAIQ* rep as well, and apart from my Spring Top 5, which is coming up on 24th June, the rest of my “other” posts will be about queer books. I’ll also be trying to stick to this for my Top Ten Tuesday posts. I’m really excited about this and I hope you guys will have fun reading my blog, too!

So that’s it from me for now. If you’ve got any comments feel free to send them my way, and if you have any book recs with LGBTAIQ* rep feel free to let me know about them too!

2 thoughts on “May Wrap-up and June TBR

  1. Pingback: June Wrap-up and July TBR | Alex Reads Books

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten LGBTAIQ* Books That I’ve Recently Added To My TBR List | Alex Reads Books

Leave a Reply

