top 5

Five of my favourite authors

Hello everyone!

Today’s prompt for the #grimdragon challenge over in instagram is “Five Favourite Authors”, so  I wanted to use the opportunity to blog about this on top of taking a picture.

Now I’m sure as bookworms we all know the problem of having too many favourite authors. Just like books they keep piling up. Or is that just me? Either way this list is by no means complete and bascially only includes the first five favourite authors I could think of, and the only order I put them in is the alphabet.

May-16-GD-

Leigh Bardugo

I only read my first book of hers, Six of Crows, last year but I fell in love with her writint almost immediately. I read the Grisha trilogy earlier this year and while I thought it wasn’t quite as good as the Six of Crows duology I did like it a lot. Either way I can’t wait for the two books she has coming out this year!

Trudi Canavan

Almost 11 years ago I went to the UK for three weeks to train my English and I saw the Black Magician Trilogy in a bookshop somewhere. But I was only 14 and had learned English for about four years so while I was intrigued, I didn’t think my English would be good enough to understand the book. Months later I found the German translation at a bookshop in Germany and devoured the books as fast as I could. By the time the Age of the Five trilogy came out I felt confident enough to read them in English and I’ve read every book Trudi Canavan wrote ever since because I absolutely love them.

Neil Gaiman

The first book by Neil Gaiman I read was American Gods and it was because of a tumblr post that used a quote from it. Needless to say I loved it and started reading everything of his that I could get my hands on (which is still an ongoing project). I love his style and how intriguing his books are. It’s hard to describe but there’s a certain quality to his fiction that always pulls me in.

Rick Riordan

My best friend told me I should read the Percy Jackson series, and it took me long enough to get there. But when I finally did I read the entirety of Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the Heroes of Olympus series as far as it had gotten at that point within a week or two. I’m fairly sure the booksellers at my local Waterstones at the time (this was when I was already living in the UK for university) recignised my face in the end simply because I was there every two days at least because I needed to get the next few books. I’m hoping I can finally get to the Kane Chronicles this year.

J.R.R. Tolkien

I know I know this one isn’t surprising at all. I grew up with Tolkien. My mum read The Hobbit to me when I was a kid and when the movies came out (I was 9 at the time I think) I read The Lord of the Rings. My mum says she would have taken us to see the movies but she decided we were a little too young to see them on the big screen so we had to wait for the VHS release. I’ve reread the books countless times since then and even if I know parts so well I can almost quote them (or I could if I didn’t suck at quoting so much… trust me to remember random facts I read ages ago but don’t ask me to quote anything…), I still love to read them every once in a while.

Who are you favourites? Agree on any of the ones I picked?

4 thoughts on “Five of my favourite authors

  1. Five favourites are:

    Norman Mailer, James Herbert, Harlan Ellison, Robert Anton Wilson and Jane Mayer, although she’s more of a journalist, although she has written some incredible factual books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

