Wrap-ups and TBRs

April Wrap-up and May TBR

The first day of May was a Monday so of course I wouldn’t get to post… Figures… Anyways lets take a look at what i read last month:

April-Wrap-Up

April was a very good month for reading, as you can see. I’ve managed 9 books per month so far, but in April it was 13. Somehow I also managed to finally read my first book by a German author, which I actually thought I had already done?

But uh let’s got hrough this cronologically, I’d say? Any reviews that are already posted will be linked, future reviews will be indicated and books without reviews will get a comment from me:

V.E. Schwab, A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3) >>> Review coming soon

Jessica Cluess, A Shadow Bright and Burning (Kingdom on Fire, #1) >>> Review coming soon

Garth Nix, Sabriel (Old Kingdom, #1) >>> ★★★☆☆ (3 Stars) This was technically a reread but I found that while I remember really liking it when I first read it, it doesn’t really draw me in as much anymore

Homer, The Iliad >>> ★★★★☆ (4 Stars) The translation I own reads really good and it was really fun! Though I have to say that the names start to blend into each other at some point…

Jen Wilde, Queens of Geek >>> ★★★★★ (5 Stars) Review

Frank Herbert, Dune Messiah (Dune, #2) >>> ★★★☆☆ (3 Stars) This is like the weird middle child in between Dune and Children of Dune, both of which I like quite a lot (nothing against middle children of course). I don’t hate it, but I don’t love it either…

China Miéville, The City & the City >>> Review coming soon

V.E. Schwab, This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1) >>> Review coming soon

J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince >>> ★★★★★ (5 Stars) This is my favourite Harry Potter right after Goblet of Fire I think? Or maybe they’re tied for first?

Julia Ember, The Seafarer’s Kiss >>> Review coming soon

Paul McVeigh, The Good Son >>> Review coming soon

Mindy McGinnis, Given to the Sea (Given Duet, #1) >>> Review coming soon

Yvonne S. Bonnetain, Loki – Beweger der Geschichten >>> ★★★★☆ (4 Stars) This is a book about Loki and his role in Norse mythology and it was such an interesting and informative read! I’ve learned quite a lot and I’m so glad I finally picked it up! Also Loki is my favourite and his role in the myths intrigues me every single time I read them so it was amazing to read more about backgrounds and interpretations and such.

May TBR

May-1

We didn’t manage to read American Gods last month so it’s still on my TBR. Anniek and I also decided we’d read Anansi Boys after.

Other than that I’ve only put The Circle by Dave Eggers on my TBR. I seemed to fare well with the almost empty TBR last month so I’m sticking with it for now. I also still have a few books pre-ordered that come out this month or have just come out and some of those will likely be read as soon as I get them.

Some General Life Stuff

We’re finally almost done painting my library! I posted a picture of the wall colour on my twitter last week (though it’s kinda shitty because what is proper lighting?). Word’s still out on when we’ll get to pesky stuff like furniture, though I doubt it’s going to be earlier than late summer.

That was pretty much everything exciting that happened last month…

What are you reading this month? Did you read anything interesting last month?
2 thoughts on “April Wrap-up and May TBR

  1. I read this Savage Song this month too 🙂
    I should really read American gods but I’ve been saying that for ages and i tend to like dramatisations of gaimans books more than the actual books so I might just watch the show…. I’m a terrible bookworm!

    Liked by 1 person

    • American Gods was actually the first of Gaiman’s books that I read and what got me to read more of his work, so I remember it very fondly.
      And don’t think you’re a terrible bookworm! There’s no right way to be a bookworm and sometimes you’ll like stories better in a different format! I mean, I’ve watched Game of Thrones up to season 4 but I barely got through the first book and I keep putting off the others…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

