Reviews

Review: Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Milk and Honey is the first poetry collection by Canadian poet Rupi Kaur. In it she combines poetry with her own drawings. She writes about pain and healing and female experiences, in a blunt, haunting way.

Milk-and-honey

Kaur’s poetry is powerful, but I’m not sure it’s quite my thing. The style and tone of her poems reminded me of Amanda Lovelace’s The Princess Saves Herself In This One, but it didn’t stay with me in the same way. In the end the drawings had much more of an impact on me than the words, which to be frank is not the reason why I open a poetry collection.

Nevertheless the poems in this book are really good. The form is very modern, so probably not for everyone, but when you read it it really has impact. I tabbed a lot of pieces because they fascinated me in some way or just because I liked the message of the poem, but ultimately I couldn’t name one of them now.

I really wanted this to stay with me in some way, but sadly it didn’t in the way I’d hope poetry stays, when I randomly open the book and look at poems, I find a lot that are interesting and that I like, but they’re not “I’ll remember that there was that one poem in this collection” memorable. Milk and Honey is a collection filled with good poetry, but I can’t bring myself to love it simply because it’s unmemorable.

Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3 Stars)

Additional Information

Goodreads

Publication Date: 6 October 2015
Publisher: Andrews McMeel
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 204
Genre: Poetry
ISBN: 9781449474256

Leave a Reply

