Review: Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3) by Leigh Bardugo

Ruin and Rising is the last book in The Grisha trilogy. The final battle between Alina and the Darkling is about to commence, but first she has to escape from the clutches of the Apparat and has to find the firebird to have a chance at winning. As she makes new alliances she also starts to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, which might change her view of him forever. But this is her last shot at saving Ravka and it could just mean to give up everything she ever dreamed of.


This was a great finale and probably the best book of the trilogy. Where Siege and Storm was less action-packed, and Shadow and Bone had to introduce a lot of things in the first place, Ruin and Rising isn’t weighed down by any of these things. It makes the narrative a fast, enjoyable read that’s entertaining from the first page to the last.

Ruin and Rising does great work with the characters that were introduced in the first two books. Their development reads very realistic, and I loved how torn Alina was between what she thought her duty was, and what she wanted.

Plotwise Ruin and Rising creates a thrilling story that turned out to be a real page turner and had me stay up all night to finish. Considering that this was Bardugo’s third book and what I’ve seen from her in Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom I can only guess at where she’s going and how good she can still get. I really liked this series and I loved the Six of Crows duology, I can’t wait to see where she goes. I am really looking forward to the book of Grishaverse short stories that was announced for later this year.

As a final conclusion on the entire series, I have to say that if you have read the Six of Crows duology first this is not as good as those books. It’s a great read if you don’t expect anything revolutionary, and personally I found the world building great. But I also don’t think you should expect too much from it.

Rating: ★★★★☆ (4 Stars)

Additional Information


Publication Date: 18 August 2015
Publisher: Square Fish
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 427
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
ISBN: 9781250063168


The capital has fallen. The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction–and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

Ruin and Rising is the thrilling final installment in Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s