Wrap-ups and TBRs

March Wrap-up and April TBR

Hello everyone!

Another month has passed, which means it’s time for another wrap-up. As ou might remember from my post in early March I had a fairly ambitious TBR.

march-01
I’m glad to say I did fairly well with it, apart from American Gods that I had already moved back to April when I wrote that post, and The Rains Came, I managed to read all books I had planned on reading.

Obviously my TBR didn’t include some of the books I hadn’t been able to pick up yet, but only two of them went on my immediate TBR, The Hate U Give and A Conjuring of Light.

So what did I really read in March?

March-31

First of all, that picture is only half accurate to be completely honest. I took it last Tuesday, in the hope that I would finish A Conjuring of Light by Friday. Instead I ended up picking up Alice in Wonderland because it was lying around on my desk, and only finished A Conjuring of Light yesterday (so on the 2nd of April). Awkward, I know.

Mara, Daughter of the Nile is another one that I picked up spontaneously, and I’m glad I did because it’s a long-time favourite of mine and it’s always worth a read, even if I think I’m starting to know whole passages by heart. Over ten years of re-reading will do that to you I guess. The only reason The Hobbit (which I’ve known a lot longer than Daughter of the Nile) isn’t there yet is that I’ve known the German version longer.

But between Empress of a Thousand Skies (4 Stars), The Hate U Give (5 Stars, please read it), History is All You Left Me (5 Stars), Measure for Measure (4 Stars) and Rebel of the Sands (3 Stars) it feels like I made good choices in March.

I’ve also managed to keep up my  “9 books a month” pace so far, which I’m impressed about. That’s 28 books of my 52 book reading goal finished already (Goodreads will tell you I’ve read 30 but there’s two short stories in there that were part of books I read). I’m getting ambitious now so maybe we’ll finally see the year where I double my goal. But I kind of doubt that.

So what’s on the list for April?

April-02

Well, it’s a lot less than last month I guess. And there’s Alice in Wonderland as well, which I’ve already read last month.

I’m really looking forward to the American Gods TV show and I can’t wait to reread the book with Anniek in time for the show’s release! And then there’s Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince of course, which I’m reading with The Magic Book Club, even though I’m notoriously bad at participating in discussions.

The Iliad has been on my TBR for about three years now, and I feel like it’s really time to finally read it. I’ve only read retellings so far so it’ll b interesting to see how they hold up against the real thing.

Other than that I  decided to keep my TBR small this month so I have a little more wriggling room for spontaneous choices. As much as I enjoyed last month’s books there were times when I thought it would be nice to be a little more spontaneous.

Part of this is the state of my TBR shelf  right now, which stands at 70 and needs to go down (yeah, right. As if that would ever work).

I’m buying too many books currently so that’s a thing that has to stop as well. I only have one pre-order left now but other than that I’m on a book buying ban until my TBR looks a little less full (exceptions for most-anticipated new releases apply).

I’m also planning to do a lot of writing over the next months, because I finally managed to outline an idea that doesn’t have gaping holes of “I don’t really know what happens here yet” and I’d like to get somewhere with it. I had hoped to be able to start writing already, but I had to  pause a few days because I could barely hold my mouse, which was a little inconvenient. But I think I might be able to start soon.

What did you read in March? See any favourites up there? What do  you plan to read in April?

Leave a Reply

