Reviews

Top 5 Books I Read This Winter

According to the calendar it is finally spring, which really was about time. I don’t make a secret of my preference for summer, and I’m really glad the days are finally going to be longer  than the nights again (at the same time my heart goes out to anyone in the southern hemisphere who has to deal with longer nights again. Hang in there!)

I somehow managed to read about half of the number of books I need for my reading challenge goal already, which probably means I should think about getting a life. Then again I’m not sure what I would do  with that so maybe we’re better off this way. My goal to read more diversely has been going decently with 14 of the 23 books I read so far including representation of some kind. I still need to work on the number of #ownvoices books but one step after the other I guess. There’s still a lot of year left after all.

Top-5-Winter

Picking a top 5 this time was kind ccof hard, because there were two books I couldn’t quite decide between, but there was only one space left on the list and I didn’t want to make more room in the honorable mentions part of the list. I ended up going for the heartbreak (sorry, Shades of Magic, you’ll get another chance on the spring list with A Conjuring of Light, I guess).

And-I-Darken

Kiersten White, And I Darken

Radu as a character makes me ridiculously happy and I just really like this book as a whole. More on that in my Review.

Angie Thomas, The Hate U Give

This book is so  amazing and great and important. There was no way I could do this list without it. Please read it.

March-09-a

Johanna Parkhurst, Thanks A Lot, John LeClair

Hockey and a super cute gay romance that survives hardships. A happy cry for me, because nothing gets me to tear up like happiness. Read my review here.

Adam Silvera, History Is All You Left Me

I told you I went for heartbreak over world travelling. This book is sad and hopeful and incredibly cute but also it totally broke my heart at times. It’s amazing.

Norse-Mythology

Neil Gaiman, Norse Mythology

A book like sitting around a fire being told myths. Words are hard and the best way I can put this it that it feels very alive. You  can find my review here.

Have you read any of these? Are you planning to? What were your favourite reads this winter?

Leave a Reply

