Ramblings

January Wrap-up and February TBR

Hello everyone!

Since it’s February now I guess it’s time to wrap up what I read in January and what I hope to read this month.

January Wrap-up

With eight books read January was a decent month for reading I’d say, even if you count that one of these books was less than a hundred pages long, and another was a screenplay.

The reviews for most of these books haven’t been posted yet, and there’s one that won’t get a review, so I’m linking them on Goodreads.

Terry Ronald, Becoming Nancy

I did not particularly like the bleak atmosphere of this book and gave it 2 Stars in my review. I can only repeat my warning from that as well: This book is ont easy to stomach and if homophobic language and mentions of sexual assault make you uncomfortable I’d advise against reading it.

Leigh Bardugo, The Grisha Trilogy

Since I loved the Six of Crows duology, I thought I’d read the Grisha trilogy as well. It’s not quite as awesome but I enjoyed it a lot. 4 Stars on Goodreads.

Susan Dennard, Truthwitch

I personally think this was a mess, if a somewhat enjoyable one. 3 Stars on Goodreads.

Nnedi Okorafor, Binti

I loved this and it makes me want to read more diverse science fiction. I would have loved this to be a full-length novel  instead of a novella, but I guess I can deal. Besides a second novella was just released and I still have to read that. 5 Stars on Goodreads.

J.K. Rowling, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay

I really enjoyed this, and the movie was pretty good. But there were some things I didn’t like; the 3.5 stars I want to give it turn into 4 on Goodreads.

Michel Wieviorka, Le Séisme

It has been ages since I read in French so this was an interesting way to check how bad my reading comprehension has gotten (it was way better than I had feared). The book is a ficitonal account of what could happen if Marine Le Pen won the French Presidential Election this May and it was interesting to read. 4 stars on Goodreads.

February TBR

february-1

Johanna Parkhurst, Thanks a lot, John Leclair

I like hockey and I like queer rep, so I’m really looking forward to this. There’s another book about the same characters that I probably should have read before this but I’ll deal.

V.E. Schwab, A Darker Shade of Magic

I’ve had this on my TBR for months and since the third book in the series is coming out I guess I should really get onto this one

Kiersten White, And I Darken

I got this in my first ever book subscription box last summer and I decided it has been lying around long enough.

Dan Jones, The Plantagenets

I started this book about two or three years ago and because I just bought a non-fiction book about another dynasty of European rulers (The Romanovs this time) I decided I’d try to finish this one.

Rupi Kaur, milk and honey

Bought spontaneously recently because I saw it at the bookshop, and I like poetry. I read this yesterday and liked it a lot.

I’ve also just started to track my reading with the wonderful reading spreadsheet by Portal in the Pages. I love being able to track my statistics in more detail.

Leave a Reply

