Reviews

Review: Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2) by Leigh Bardugo

Crooked Kingdom is the second part of the Six of Crows duology. Kaz and his crew have one of their own to get back and a merchant to destroy. But things are a little more complicated than that with attacks on Grisha in Ketterdam, and delegations from around the world gathering to find Dol Yul Bayur and the secret of jurda parem.

crooked-kingdom-small

I absolutely loved this book. Which makes it kind of hard to write a review, because I kinda want to just resort to keysmashing to express my feelings about it (in fact, if you follow me on goodreads or Twitter you might have seen me do just that). I’ll try to keep it coherent though.

First of all it was amazing to get to return to these characters, and I was so glad to see that the narration seemed a lot more evenly distributed between the six main characters, which made some things a lot easier to believe. The character development continues to be great, and where I still criticised Wylan’s character as underdeveloped when I wrote my review for Six of Crows I am so happy to say that it is a lot better in Crooked Kingdom.

It was great to see how the relationships between the characters developed and how they all grew closer through their schemes, and the way they worked together was very cool.

Plotwise the second book doesn’t have to hide behind the first book in any way. The stage seems both larger and smaller than in the first book , and the stakes somehow manage to feel higher, even though they haven’t changed all that much. Once again the plot is thrilling from the first page to the last, and it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

Overall this duology just gave me so many elements that I would love to see more, and once I was finished with it, I had to take a few days off from reading (possibly including a few hours spent reading fanfiction) because I just couldn’t fathom reading anything else. Yes, this series is that good. I’m so happy about the representation in it, and to be honest I think a lot of books could take a leaf out of Six of Crows‘ and Crooked Kingdom’s books on that front. I have definitely found a new favourite series.

Rating: ★★★★★ (5 Stars)

Additional Information

Publication Date:  20 September 2016
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
Page Count: 546
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
ISBN: 9781627792134

Summary:

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.

(Source: Goodreads.com)

 

One thought on “Review: Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows, #2) by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Pingback: Review: Ruin and Rising (The Grisha, #3) by Leigh Bardugo | Alex Reads Books

Leave a Reply

