Ramblings

My Goals for 2017

Hello everyone!

I mentioned in my post about my 2016 Top 10 that I was thinking about some stuff for the new year, and after some consideration I have decided to write down a few of my goals to serve as a reminder for myself. They’re not hard goals to pressure myself, but they are things that I would like to try to achieve over the course of 2017 and that I hopefully can stick to for the upcoming twelve months.

Blog more

My current one post a week is still the minimum I’d like to put in, but I also want to try to post a little more, because right now I have a backlog of drafted posts that I carried over from 2016 that takes me all through January and February to the beginning of March. I’d like to post reviews closer to when I read the books, and not three months later.

Write more

I utterly failed at NaNoWriMo last year, even though I feel like I have found a story that I really want to tell. I’m not sure if I will attempt NaNo this year, but I would at least like to work on writing more than I did last year. Whether it’s fanfiction or blog entries or original fiction, I would like to at least try to get something done every week or so. I’ve already started with this by making a note in my calendar for every day that I wrote or at least worked in some form on a story.

Get better at blogging

This blog isn’t all that old, so I’m not all that experienced yet. But I’d like to work on myself and my blog in that regard.

Read more diversely

Like last year, I set my Goodreads challenge goal to 52 books, because I feel like whatever happens in my life, I should be able to read that much. And even if I think I will probably read more than that, I would like to read as many diverse books as possible. My primary focus remains LGBTAIQ+ diversity, but I hope to be able to read more diversely in regards to other marginalised groups as well. I’m also taking part in the #ReadDiverse2017 challenge by ReadDiverseBooks in order to motivate myself a little.

Stay positive

Life is beautiful, the world is beautiful, and I’d like to remember that even in bad times.

 

Leave a Reply

