Ramblings

Top 10 Books I Read in 2016

Hello everyone!

I hope you all had a good start to the new year or, as we say in German, that you slid well into the new year.

I’ve been thinking about what kind of goals I’d like to accomplish in 2017, and there isn’t a lot yet (I’m not particularly good with resolutions and goals to be honest), I might talk about that a bit more in the near future.

But first I’d like to wrap up the old year. I read 90 books last year, which is 38 more than the challenge of 52 I set for myself. I got into bookstagramming and started this blog, and met so many awesome people. I hope I can continue that way in the new year and maybe even work on doing better than I am doing right now.

I tried to break down the books I read last year into a Top 10 list. As usual these are in no order other than the one that I thought of them. I’ve linked my own reviews where I could, for all others clicking on the title will lead you to the book on Goodreads.

Dana Elmendorf, South of Sunshine

This book about two girls falling in love in a small town in Tennessee, was a beautiful read. It’s not an easy ride, and if you find it hard to stomach outright homophobia, racism, slut shaming and Christian fundamentalism you should be warned, because there is instances of all of them in this book. For me it was a beautiful coming out story that also confronted the people in the main character’s  life with their bigotry. I’m the first to admit that I cry easily, but this book was worth every happy tear I shed over it.

Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows Duology

I already raved about these in my Top 5 Autumn Reads so I’m not doing it again, but god it’s just so good!

Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Another book that I listed in my Autumn Top 5 recently.

Rick Riordan, Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

I love Norse mythology and I love Rick Riordan’s books. This series is no exception. Whether it’s characters or the interweaving of mythology with the real world, it’s really well done. I’m really glad about the steady increase in the number of diverse characters since the Percy Jackson books, and it was good to see that he’s so far keeping it up. I can’t wait to read the next book.

Rick Riordan, The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo, #1)

Apollo was my kinda obnoxious but funny favourite whenever he turned up in earlier books, so of course I wanted to pick up a book with him as a main character. To be honest it was everything I had hoped for and more. Apollo remains very dramatic and full of (kind of bad) poetry. I’m excited to see where this series is going.

Ben Aaronovitch, The Hanging Tree (Peter Grant, #6)

What can I say here that I haven’t already said in my review? I just love this series and I look forward to every new book published in it. Maybe I’ll finally get around to the graphic novels in 2017?

Melissa Grey, The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight, #2)

I absolutely loved The Girl at Midnight when I read it the year before and so The Shadow Hour had turned into one of my most anticipated releases of 2016. It didn’t disappoint much, and I still find the world utterly compelling. I’m gonna be a little sad to leave the characters behind when the last book of the trilogy comes out next year, but I also can’t wait to read it.

Sarah McCarry, About a Girl (Metamorphoses, #3)

I haven’t managed to read the other books in this series yet, but if they’re anything like this one they’re sure to be beautiful. This book felt magical and sweet without drifting off into cliches.

Amanda Lovelace, The Princess Saves Herself in this One

This poetry collection was so powerful and amazing. It was a punch to the gut at times, but also so profoundly beautiful. I’m not even sure if my words can do it justice, you should probably read for yourself instead.

Alexandre Dumas, The Three Musketeers

This book was so fun. Actually it was probably one of the most fun classics I’ve read yet. I already talked about this book in my Top 5 Summer Reads post and my opinion hasn’t changed a bit since then.

Which books did you like last year? Did any of them make this list?

Leave a Reply

