Reviews

Review: The Hanging Tree (Peter Grant, #6) by Ben Aaronovitch

Crime’s afoot in London once again, and thanks to a favour he owes Lady Tyburn, Peter Grant gets to be involved in the investigation into a mysterious death among the rich and influential. It doesn’t seem like your average supernatural case at first, but Peter has to realise that it’s so much more than it seems.

the-hanging-tree-small

I’ve practically been in love with this series ever since I picked up Rivers of London several years ago, and breezed through the first three novels as fast as I could, and the sixth book once again lives up to my expectations.

Peter’s voice was what initially drew me in when I started reading, and at this point it has become really easy to slip back into things. His London is not the London I experience when I’m there, for various reasons, but it is also very much interwoven with my feeling about London. Peter’s narration both immediately transports me back,  while at the same time making me ask myself when I can visit the city again.

The plot of this novel is thrilling until the end. We’re getting closer to the Faceless Man, but as it turns out we’re still not quite close enough. I love how the plot surrounding the Faceless Man is woven together with the case of the day. Aaronovitch manages to keep a balance between the two that gives enough room to both of the plots, even when it turns out that one is actually part of the other.

Aaronovitch manages to build a London full of magic that still feels so believable that I would somehow not be surprised if someone came  up to me and told me it was actually real. It’s this plus Peter Grant’s cheek and voice that are one of the biggest reasons why I love this series, and I am happy to say that one again it doesn’t disappoint.

★★★★★ (5 Stars)

Additional Information

Publication Date: 3 November 2016 
Publisher: Gollancz
Page Count: 384
Genre: Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, Supernatural, Crime Fiction
ISBN: 9780575132559

Summary:

The Hanging Tree was the Tyburn gallows which stood where Marble Arch stands today. Oxford Street was the last trip of the condemned. Some things don’t change. The place has a bloody and haunted legacy and now blood has returned to the empty Mayfair mansions of the world’s super-rich. And blood mixed with magic is a job for Peter Grant.

Peter Grant is back as are Nightingale et al. at the Folly and the various river gods, ghosts and spirits who attach themselves to England’s last wizard and the Met’s reluctant investigator of all things supernatural.

(Source: Goodreads.com)

One thought on “Review: The Hanging Tree (Peter Grant, #6) by Ben Aaronovitch

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read in 2016 | Alex Reads Books

Leave a Reply

