Ramblings

Top 5 Reads of Autumn 2016

It is the first day of winter today, so to wrap up autumn, it is time to make a list of my five favourite books that I read since September. It was  little harder than my summer list, for once I read a little more than in summer, but also there were so many books I really liked that it was hard to reduce the list to five. The inclusion of some books was a no-brainer on the other hand so in the end I managed to decide on a Top 5 (+ 1 non-competitive entry).

autumn-top-5-small

Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows Duology

I love, love, love this series!  I already posted my review of the first book, and you’ll have to wait a little longer for that of the second book, but God, this is such a great duology. From the diversity of the characters, to world building and plot it just drew me in and when it was over I was not ready at all to leave it behind. It’s not just a favourite of autumn, it’s an overall favourite. And for full disclosure: I count the entire series as one, because I didn’t want to use two space on the list up.

Rick Riordan, Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor

I’m a huge fan of Riordan’s books,  and even with minor criticisms this book is no exception. The way he manages to bring mythology to life on the page is just amazing, and the casual way he includes diversity in his books is a great thing. Along with Six of Crows  this was one of the books that I didn’t even have to think about including on this list.

Benjamin Alire Sáenz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Another of these instant favourites. I haven’t posted my review yet, but I absolutely loved this book. It’s probably one of the most beautiful books I read all year, maybe even longer than that and I am so glad I finally picked it up! (At the same time I’m a little mad at myself for leaving it on my TBR for so long, but there’s nothing we can do about that now.)

Marissa Meyer,  Heartless

The book that I didn’t want to get sucked into because I knew there would be no happy end, but then it turned out I didn’t stand a chance anyways. Not to spoil the review I’m still posting at some point, but while there were some things Meyer could have done better the emotional side was amazing.

Elisabeth Hewer, Wishing for Birds (Limited Anniversary Edition)

I absolutely love Elisabeth’s poetry and this collection is amazing. There’s a review coming up for it, but if you’re interested in the meantime you should check out her website!

+1:  Christoph Marzi, London

I decided to list this as a non-competitive entry because it’s German and (as far as I know) there’s no English translation of the series it belongs to, which is a pity, because it’s so absolutely beautiful and a long time favourite. London is about the entire city of London disappearing off the face of the earth and how the main characters have to save their city and bring it back to the world. It was absolutely amazing and I was really happy to return to this world.

Which books did you like this autumn?

One thought on “Top 5 Reads of Autumn 2016

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read in 2016 | Alex Reads Books

Leave a Reply

