Ramblings

5 Favourite Reads of Summer 2016

Summer has been over for a bit now and at least where I live the weather has started feeling like it as well (even though we appear to have directly skipped to late fall), but here I am, still in denial that it’s autumn already. Anyways, here’s my definite list of my Top 5 Books I read this summer (in no particular order):

top-5-summer-small

Alexandre Dumas, The Three Musketeers

I started my summer by developing a slight obsession with the BBC show The Musketeers (of which I still haven’t seen the last episode. I just don’t want it to be over…) so obviously I had to read the book the show was built on. Turns out I absolutely love it. It’s a fun read, and while there’s period-typical elements that maybe aren’t great from a modern perspective, it was absolutely worth my time. Now if i ever manage to get my TBR piles to an acceptable height again the sequels are pretty high up on my “to buy” list.

Melissa Grey, The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #1)

Perhaps my most anticipated read of summer 2016 and it absolutely did not let me down. Turns out, almost a year after reading The Girl at Midnight, I still love the characters just as much as before, and Grey managed to write a sequel that’s just as amazing as the first book was.

Hannah Moskowitz, Teeth

This was such an achingly beautiful read. The relationship between Rudy and Teeth was just great. And even though I was a little frustrated with how little the end resolved (okay so maybe I had just hoped they would be allowed to be happy with each other, if only for a little while), I just love this book a lot.

J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

The book I didn’t want to buy initially, but then bought anyways because I’m actually predictable like that and Harry Potter is still… Harry Potter. I wish I could see this on stage, because it reads like a great play. I actually loved how things had changed with everyone getting older, and while there was a thing or two I could have done without, i just really kinda loved the trip down memory lane and into my childhood. And Albus and Scorpius are really great characters. We grew up, I guess so did Harry.

Maria Dahvana Headley, Magonia (Magonia #1)

I know I know, I didn’t think it was all that amazing when I wrote my review. But that doesn’t change that it was an absolutely beautiful read that managed to make this list over other books that I gave better reviews to. After all Aza’s story still intrigued me, and I’m still looking forward to the sequel so I can find out more about the world of Magonia.

What did you read this summer?

5 thoughts on “5 Favourite Reads of Summer 2016

  1. Dumas is a damn good writer. I also recommend a bit of Tolstoy and War and Peace. Many people think it’s going to be a bit of a long, slow read, but it’s actually full of action, intrigue and romance.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read in 2016 | Alex Reads Books

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Reads of Autumn 2016 | Alex Reads Books

Leave a Reply

